What’s Your MBTI Type?

The Myers Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is the most widely used typology system in the world. Used not only by companies to understand employees’ diverse strengths  and improve productivity, it is also an excellent tool to build self-awareness and an understanding of how to relate effectively with all sixteen types. Discovering MBTI  absolutely blew me away – my results described me to a tee. It completely transformed my way of looking at myself and other people and I accredit it in no small part to helping me become a more effective communicator – when you understand how other people work you can tailor your language to their specific interests and motivations, which is a valuable skill in the workplace. It’s also great your loved ones – if you have an awareness of your partner or family’s inner workings it can minimise conflict and pave the way for healthy relationships with an incredible level of interpersonal awareness.  As my passion for MBTI has grown it has become a popular conversation piece amongst my friends and new acquaintances often want me to help determine their type. There are unofficial tests you can take online, but these often take 15-30 minutes – not ideal in a social situation! – so I have compiled a quick-fire list that you can show your friends wherever you are – enjoy!

A little background first… (or skip to the next section)

The Myers Briggs system  reveals your four preferences:

  • Introversion/Extroversion (I or E)
  • Intuition/ Sensing (N or S)
  • Thinking/Feeling (T or F)
  • Judging/Perceiving (J or P)
 
There are 16 possible types, with four letters representing each type.  For example: ESTP, INFP, ISTJ…
Some examples of what your Myers Briggs Type could reveal:
  • Your communication style
  • Strengths and weaknesses
  • Careers you may be suited to
  • Your motivations and values
  • Which other types you tend to get along best with platonically and romantically
  •  How you handle conflict

 

THE TEST: 

Am I am introvert or an extrovert?

Nothing to do with how shy or outgoing you are, introversion/extroversion is about your preference for either your inner world or the outer world. Introverts and extroverts are like opposing batteries: introverts use up power around others and recharge alone whereas extroverts are drained of power when they’re alone and recharge around other people.

Introverts:

  • I direct my energy inwards
  • I enjoy solitude and need my private ‘me time’
  • I’m more likely to feel lonely in a crowded room than when I’m actually alone
  • I like working on solo projects 
  • I think first and act later -anticipating the consequences is more important to me than acting them out straight away
  • You could say I live in my head a lot
  • At the end of a hard working day to blow off steam I would often rather have a quiet night in than go out
  • I express myself better in writing than face to face
  • At parties I tend to find one or two people I connect with and and prefer these one to one conversations to group interaction
  • I tend to get overwhelmed easily from too much stimulation
  • I like to concentrate my attention intensely on one thing at a time and I am very good at concentrating for a long time
  • Unplanned social interactions stress me out
  • I like to have a close circle of friends I trust
  • I tend to pay most attention to the person speaking or my own thoughts during conversation.

Extroverts:

  • I direct my energy outwards
  • I get restless, bored or lonely if I’m on my own a lot
  • Being around people energises me
  • I prefer group projects to individual ones
  • I dive in and act first, leaving the thinking for later – I like to seize the moment
  • I feel most comfortable when interacting with the world around me
  • At the end of a hard working day to blow off steam I like to go out and enjoy myself
  • I express myself better verbally than in writing
  • At parties I love to be part of the crowd, interacting with many people at once
  • I tend to get bored with too little stimulation 
  • I like to direct my attention to a variety of things – I can’t concentrate well on one thing for too long
  • Unplanned social interactions are a great surprise! 
  • I like to have a wide circle of friends and acquaintances 
  • I tend to scan the environment during conversations 

Am I a Sensor or an Intuitive?

This is about how you prefer to take in information. Sensors prefer to observe their environment and work with what can be discovered with the five senses whereas intuitives prefer to work with ideas, patterns and possibilities. Do you care more about the here-and-now or the what if?

Sensor (S):
  • I am more of a doer than a thinker
  • I like getting to action with a project with minimal theorising
  • I see myself as present-oreintated – interested in the here and now
  • I can struggle sometimes to read between the lines
  • I am very aware of the fine details of my environment
  • I am more literal than abstract
  • The facts come first and I deal with the big picture later
  • I am more observant than reflective
  • I tune into the world around me to help me understand it
  • I remember the factual data better than the overall meanings
  • I pay a lot of attention to the details and less to deciphering meaning
  • I trust experience more than theory
  • I am uninterested in theories unless they have a practical application
  • I remember events as a series of snapshots of what happened
  • If I were asked to summarise a movie I would probably talk about the sequence of events that took place
  • Too much unapplied theory can bore me
  • I am a practical person


Intuitive (N):
I am more of the thinker than a doer
I like running through the ideas and options in a project in my head thoroughly
I see myself as future orientated – interested in what might be
I am excellent at reading between the lines
I am not very aware of small details in my environment
I am more abstract than literal
The big picture comes first and I deal with the facts later
I am more reflective than observant
I tune out of the world to help me understand it
I remember the overall meanings better than the factual data
I pay a lot of attention to deciphering the meaning behind things but often miss out on the fine details
I trust theories as much or more so than experience
I find theories fascinating even if I can’t always test them out in the real world
I remember events by general impressions and by the conclusions and ideas I drew from them
If I was asked to summarise a movie I would probably talk about the underlying themes and concepts it encompasses
Too much  factual information can bore me
I dislike having to deal with the practicalities of life



Am I A Thinker or A Feeler?

How do you like to make your decisions? Thinkers are most concerned with responding to situations based on logic (what is most efficient/productive?) whereas a feeler puts more weight into the interpersonal aspect of problems – (how will the people involved in this be affected). You could say that thinkers are better systemisers and feelers are better empathisers. Often people are raised in an environment that strongly prefers one method over another and different situations call for a different balance between the two so think about which comes most naturally and comfortably to you. This dichotomy has an uneven gender split – about 3/4 of people fit the trend that males  are T and females are F.


Thinker (T):

  • I enjoy technology/science based pursuits
  • I don’t expect things to be harmonious all the time – I am unperturbed by conflict
  • I think more with my head than my heart
  • I can be a little cold
  • I am more task orientated than people orientated
  • People come to me when they want a practical  solution to a problem
  • I would rather be blunt and honest than tactful to spare someone’s feelings
  • I can be too direct
  • I value fairness over compassion 
  • I am rather thick skinned
  • I am more firm than gentle
  • I spot logical inconsistencies easily
  • Irrational people annoy me more than those who are immoral 
  • People should maintain an objective stance regardless of the emotions of those involved


Feeler (F):

  • I like to maintain harmony – a lack of it makes me anxious
  • I take people’s wishes into consideration before I decide what to do
  • I think more with my heart than my head
  • I am often described as a warm person
  • I am more people orientated than task orientated
  • People come to me when they want empathy or to help them understand someone else’s perspective
  • I would rather reveal hard truths tactfully than risk upsetting someone unnecessarily
  • I can be too indirect
  • I value compassion over fairness
  • I spend a lot of time thinking about what is morally right and wrong
  • I am thin skinned
  • I am more gentle than firm
  • I can see how others may interpret a situation or how they feel easily
  • A lack of morality in others bothers me more than them being irrational
  • People should take into account the emotions of others rather than acting exactly by the protocol


Am I Judging or Perceiving? 

The final dichotomy is based on how you align yourself to the outer world.  Being ‘judging’ does not mean you are judgemental. Judgers prefer to make plans and have order and stability whereas Perceivers like to leave their options open to discover new things.

Judging (J):

  • I am an organised person
  • I like to have things decided quickly even if sometimes I miss new information
  • that might have impacted my decision
  • I enjoy the results of a project more than the process – I get a sense of satisfaction from its completion
  • I feel I can be a more tightly-strung person than a carefree one
  • I like to bring areas of my life under control by planning – I try to adjust the environment to me
  • Structure, rules and plans make me feel more comfortable
  • I plan my tasks ahead of time so I rarely have to rush to finish them at the last minute
  • I see deadlines as rigid and fixed
  • I dislike surprises and last minute changes
  • I value closure, knowing what is going to happen

Perceiving (P):

  • Organising doesn’t come naturally to me
  • I delay making decisions until I have as much information as possible, sometimes to the inconvenience of other people
  • I enjoy the process of a project more than its completion – I feel a little restless/ disappointed when it is finished
  • I think that I can be a more carefree person than a tightly-strung one
  • I like to let things unfold without trying to control them and adjust to the environment rather than make it adjust to me
  • I dislike structure, rules and plans
  • I often procrastinate and finish tasks at the last minute
  • I see deadlines as flexible
  • I likes surprises and last minute changes
  • I value freedom of options, not being ‘tied down’ to one course of action
Leave a Reply

